Top
DUI Defense



Citrus County DUI Defense Attorney

Trial-Tested Driving Under the Influence Defense in Florida

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), or boating under the influence (BUI), you need the help of an experienced Criminal Defense attorney to help you fight your charges. At Caughey Law, PLLC, our Citrus County DUI Defense Attorney can aggressively challenge your DUI charges and help you avoid the harsh penalties associated with a DUI conviction in Florida.

At Caughey Law, PLLC, we have developed a reputation for excellence in DUI defense as a result of our dedication to our clients and our commitment to excellence. Our Citrus County DUI Attorney has been handling DUI and BUI cases for over a decade and has the legal knowledge and litigation background to protect your rights. You can count on our firm to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve.

If you are facing DUI charges, we can help you. To schedule a free initial consultation with our Citrus County DUI Attorney, contact our firm today.


Call (352) 645-2215 now or contact Caughey Law, PLLC online to speak with a Citrus County DUI attorney.


What Is Involved in a DUI Case?

If you are facing DUI charges, you may be wondering what will happen in your case and what you should expect. A DUI case can be complicated and will involve several different parties and procedures. Below is an overview of what you can expect if you are arrested for DUI in Florida.

When you are arrested for DUI, the arresting officer will:

  • Gather information about your arrest (e.g., your side of the story, details about your arrest, etc.)
  • Take your blood alcohol content (BAC) or breath alcohol content (BrAC) with a breathalyzer or through a blood or urine test
  • Photograph your vehicle and license plates
  • Photograph your injuries, if any
  • Complete an affidavit of probable cause (APC) for your arrest

How BAC Affects Your Case

After you are arrested for DUI, the arresting officer will take your BAC, which is the most important piece of evidence in your case. The amount of alcohol in your system will be used to determine if you were impaired at the time of your arrest. If you were found to have a BAC of .08% or greater, the state will claim that you were driving while impaired. The legal limit for BAC in Florida is .08% for adults 21 years of age and older, and .02% for adults under 21 years of age.

If you refuse to take a Breath Test after being arrested for DUI, you will face penalties. The state will attempt to prove your guilt through other evidence, including the arresting officer's testimony. The state may try to use circumstantial evidence to prove your guilt, such as the location of your arrest, the time of day, and the weather conditions. The state may also try to use your driving pattern as evidence of your guilt. They are also permitted to use a consciousness of guilt argument to explain your refusal to a jury.

Contact Us Today to Begin Your DUI Case!

If you have been arrested for DUI, you should contact our Citrus County DUI Attorney as soon as possible. Our attorney can help you determine the best course of action for your case, including whether you should submit to a BAC test. You can count on our firm to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve.


Call (352) 645-2215 now or contact Caughey Law, PLLC online to speak with a Citrus County DUI attorney. 


Schedule A Free Consultation

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help.



Free Consultations Available

Contact Our Offices

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (352) 645-2215.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.